SUPER NURSE

December of ’03 was the time I witnesses that children like me always need help. Spending time in the hospital from a severe car crash, I was all beaten up and swollen. Experiencing memory loss from the brain damaged and the feeling of the limbs of my legs being loose and in the opposite direction of one another: not having the gut feeling of even speaking, eating or drinking with a tube down my throat. I was so damaged and broken.  But I watched the other children around me suffer worse than I did. There were children, who had no legs and children who were blind, I saw it all. But I always  watched the nurses support them. It made me think that I could also help them too. I am blessed that I could still see and I can still walk. I feel like it’s only right if I could help the children who don’t have what I was blessed with. I would feel like a hero or the super nurse.

As the days went, I continued to get myself together, and as I was doing that I also continued to watch the other children. After everything was going by I worked my way out the hospital; which made me very sad. I had grown friendships with these children and to leave the hospital, I had to realize that I had to leave my friendships too. This only made me want to become super nurse even more.

When I finally reached high school, I had decided to go to Central High School. Central had my attention when I found out they had magnets. The Nursing magnet was my first choice even before I stepped into Central. I was so excited to finally feel like my dream was coming true. Being in the nursing magnet I’ve learned everything from the basics of medical terminology to CPR and other hands-on things. I finally got my CNA as a junior in high school. This made the process of being super nurse even easier. Being certified I was only a couple more steps away. College.

As a future college student I plan to major in nursing. I will be going to a four year university to receive my bachelors’ degree. Achieving my dream as super nurse is must. I will do anything possible to peruse my dreams. It means so much to me to save or at least try to help save these children like me. I owe it to them.

When I finally become Super Nurse, there will be happier children no matter what kind of situation there in. I will also be happy as well. Living a dream that you’ve worked hard for is something everyone should be proud of. I promise this will be me. 

Tais
2/17/2013 11:09:28 pm

I'm proud of you sis. I am happy to see how strong you are after all this time. continue to follow your dreams you will be the best Super Nurse ever!

Reply
Demondrea Starnes
2/19/2013 10:49:24 pm

You doing great things:)) keep up the work! nursing requires alot of hardwork and schooling and i can tell that you can do it. yuo doing big things now and I can see you doing greater things in the future.

Reply
2/26/2013 02:45:54 am

i really like this and how you use your real life story had made it even more incouraging to other people and i hope that they see and try to become more like you

Reply



Leave a Reply.