Love Is Blind </3

  She
looked in the mirror; she did not recognize her face. Being in denial, she was
in love. But was this love? Why did her face look so different, what happened to
the beautiful smile she once had? Should she go through with the marriage
arranged around the corner or leave what could possibly be her ticket to a big
life? Was the relationship worth the money, her life?


Kell, a pediatric nurse for the best
children’s hospital in Houston, was always this happy jolly girl. Fresh out of
college she of course had nothing. So many loans she had to pay back. She
managed her life of nothing though. She never complained about anything. Her
family supported her to a certain extent. The only thing that was wrong with
this jolly girl was that she was 26 and still living at home with her parents.
But all that soon was to change after she met Him. He was this handsome man that
was offering her the world, and of course at the beginning everything was as
good as gold. She was then even happier. She was involved in a love that she
thought was perfect. Being in a relationship with the best doctor in the same
facility, you would think this was the best couple in town. But looks are very
deceiving.


Everything was fine, until one day he
snapped. I had never seen him like this before. After this wonderful year
almost, he changes on me. But why, what did I ever do? One slap to the face was
the first and only alarm I needed. But as always when you’re in love you tend to
stay where you shouldn’t belong.


“What’s wrong Kell? Aren’t you happy,
you’re about to marry one of the best bachelors in Houston. An employer asked.
Kell with a sigh on her face, shakes her head with a fake smile and says “Oh
nothing just thinking, and I’m happy of course.”But deep inside it’s killing her
like crazy. “I love this man, just not the way he loves me. How can I explain
this to people?” She thought.


“If I was to leave him now, where would I
go? Wanting to go back to my parents would be an epic fail. They had already
changed what was my bedroom to their own personal entertainment room. I hadn’t
spoken about his incidents to anyone especially my father because he would kill
him. And yet I still love this man, so he dying would be beyond tragic. But I
had to choose. He could take everything away from me as he gave to me. He had
paid off all my loans and everything. So if I left I would have nothing once
again but my dignity. He’s the reason why I have the job I have now. Huh, I’m
sitting here talking to myself, because I have no friends. I have no one to
really talk to about my problems. I guess this was the outcome when I chose not
to be social with my old friends from college. Gosh I miss
them.”


It was a Friday night, the usual “date
night” and dinner reservations were already set. Mister and I were getting
dressed. He was the closet looking for his attire and I was in the bathroom
fixing my hair. He walked behind me and kissed me on the back of my shoulder, I
smiled. “Let’s have a good night baby girl; I want to see you smile all night.”
He whispered in my ear softly. “For sure, I love you.” I said. “I love you
more.” He replied. The moments like this she cherishes and wishes it would last
forever.


Finally at the restaurant, the waitress
walked up and asked for our orders. I’m thinking to myself what to eat, what to
eat? Mister said “I need to eat a salad and some soup.” But I really wanted some
parmesan crusted chicken and some sweet calamari. So I suggested just that.
“Ooo” I said as he grabbed my knee really tight. I looked around to see if
anyone noticed the shocked look on my face. As soon as I had placed my order and
the waitress walked away, he said “Don’t embarrass me like that ever again baby
girl. You need to keep your body up and those calories in that chicken will not
help you maintain that. Tonight I’m going to let you slide because we can still
end this night well.” And I sat there in silence for the rest of night including
in the car on our way home.


As the days past mister and I were still in
this situation. I mean relationship. And the hitting didn’t get worse but it got
to the point where I don’t want it anymore. I lie in my room sometimes and cry
myself to sleep. But I continue to get up every day with a smile on my face just
to let people see on the outside I’m still happy. But really I’m so broken down
I don’t know what to do. I talked to my parents recently, but their so excited
about the wedding, the problems I had going on was not even of topic. How can I
escape this?


“Hey Kell, how are you this morning?”
Stacy, a nurse asked me. “Hey Stacy, I’m fine and you?” I replied. “Oh I’m
great, can’t wait to see how beautiful you’re going to be in your dress next
week.” She said. “Yeah me too. But I got a question.” I said. “Okay sure what is
it?” she wondered. “Okay say there’s this girl and she was in a situation that
was too hard to get out of..:” she interrupted and said“what situation, what
friend?” listen I said, “she’s in a relationship that is not really healthy, but
everyone thinks that it’s just so perfect because they look like their perfect
couple. But any who the girl she wants to leave, but she doesn’t know how. She
doesn’t know where to go. At this point she stuck and will be left with nothing.
She has no one to talk to or turn to. What should she do?” I said. Stacy looked
very curious and said “Kell if you’re trying to leave. I mean your friend, tell
her to leave. I’m pretty sure she has a great support system, just tell her to
open her mouth and speak up. And if not that there are places to go. I’m pretty
sure you, she has some kind of backup plan to move into her own spot. There are
a lot of small apartments out the city to move. And plenty of jobs to get with
the experience she may have.” I looked with a shocked, “okay I will make sure
that gets back to her.” Stacy grabbed me and said “I promise to keep this
between us, and I’m always here if you or your friend needs me.”   
 


 Was she right? I do make enough money to
get my own spot. I guess I never looked at it that way cause mister always had
  everything set out for me. But that will be the first thing I do when I get
  home look up something small just for me.



Meanwhile, at home mister walked in with a
dozen of white flowers and a dozen of kisses for the lady. His energy was off
the wall. And I loved every moment of it. We kissed each other so passionate for
a long while as if we hadn’t seen each other in ages. But of course the moment
wouldn’t last forever, because after a while he would get angry over something
small and start having a tantrum like a 3 year old child. As that occurs I get a
shove to wall, and this time I retaliate and swing back at his face. I gave all
power to that slap too.“Huuuhhhhh I’m so sick of this. I can’t do this anymore.
I am not your rag doll, I am your fiancée, your lady, but I’m soon to be
nothing, NOTHING do you hear me. I am too good to you to be treated like this.
What happened to the happiness we had at first? Why are things like this? Do you
care how I feel; you know what I’m leaving!”   I screamed out as I was pounding
his body.


And just like that, with no words said from
mister, I left.




Leave a Reply.